Faculty and Staff

The Cobb Institute functions as a community of researchers who maintain the highest standards of academic excellence and research innovation as we advance evidence-based solutions for racial and ethnic disparities in health and healthcare. We bring a wealth of expertise in the areas of health research, medical education and training, clinical training, capacity building and consultation.


Our Senior Fellows are influencers, thought leaders, and changemakers in the healthcare profession who are passionate about equitable healthcare access for African Americans and traditionally medically underserved populations. Fellows influence systems and institutions. They offer intensive mentoring and networking to scholars in areas of research, policy and practice. 

Chair, Donald E. Wilson, M.D.  Vice Chair, Michael Lenoir, M.D.
Chair Emeritus, Louis W. Sullivan, M.D.   
Georges C. Benjamin, M.D.  James Gavin III, M.D., Ph.D.  Robert Like, M.D., M.S. David Satcher, M.D., Ph.D. 
Joseph Betancourt, M.D., M.P.H. George Hill, Ph.D. Edith Mitchell, M.D., FACP Brian Smedley, Ph.D.
Carolyn Barley Britton, M.D., M.S. Rodney Hood, M.D. Randall C. Morgan, M.D., M.B.A Augustus A. White III, M.D., Ph.D.
W. Michael Byrd, M.D., M.P.H. Sonja Hutchins M.D., M.P.H.  Elizabeth O. Ofili, M.D., M.P.H., FACC Richard Allen Williams, M.D., FACC, FAHA
Linda Clayton, M.D., M.P.H.  Edith Irby Jones, M.D. Roderic Pettigrew, M.D., Ph.D. M. Roy Wilson, M.D., M.S.
Donna Christensen, M.D. Camara Phyllis Jones, M.D., M.P.H., Ph.D. Vivian W. Pinn, M.D. Jackson T. Wright JR., M.D., PH.D., FACP
James P. Comer, M.D., M.P.H Lovell A. Jones, Ph.D., F.H.D.R. Joan Y. Reede, M.D., M.S., M.P.H, M.B.A. Gail E. Wyatt, Ph.D.
Lisa A. Cooper, M.D., M.P.H Cato T. Laurencin, M.D., Ph.D. Griffin Rodgers, M.D.  
Alvin H. Crawford, M.D.  Thomas LaVeist, Ph.D. John Ruffin, Ph.D.  


These Advisors are interdisciplinary leaders spanning clinical specialties, thematic areas of interests who seek to foster the development of high-level research and leadership skills among the Cobb Scholars via professional coaching and networking. The Advisors are led by the Senior Fellows and include additional mentors and associates, encompassing a national network of influencers in medicine and science. 

Co-Director, Evelyn Lewis, M.D. Co-Director, Winston Price, M.D.
Lori Bateman Ph.D.—University of Alabama Birmingham George Hill Ph.D.---Vanderbilt Earlexia Norwood M.D.—Henry Ford Health System
Cedric Bright M.D.—East Carolina Brody
Marja Hurley M.D., --U Conn Health Center Elizabeth Ofili M.D., --Morehouse
Virginia Caine M.D., MPH—Indiana University

Sharon Jackson M.D.—NIMHD

Winston Price M.D.—NMA Past Presidents
Alvin Crawford M.D.—University of Cincinnati Lovell Jones Ph.D.- Prairie View University Lynne Richardson M.D., --Mt. Sinai Medical Center
Betty Crutcher Ph.D., Ph.D, MPH—University of Richmond
Christine Joseph Ph.D.—Henry Ford Health System Brian Rivers Ph.D.--Morehouse
Brandi Freeman M.D.—University of Colorado Bonnie Simpson Mason, M.D. Yashika Watkins Ph.D.—Chicago State University
Lee Green Ph.D.—Moffitt Cancer Center Lisa Merritt M.D.  –Sarasota, FL Derrick West M.D., M.S.—University at Texas at Houston
Terone Green M.P.A— Mark Murray M.D., Ph.D.—Denver, CO  


The Cobb Team and our partners at Charles R. Drew School of Medicine, Howard University College of Medicine, Meharry Medical College and Morehouse School of Medicine bring decades of experience in health, health care, health care delivery, health equity, medical education and health services research.    

President & CEO
Randall C. Morgan Jr., M.D., M.B.A.  
Editor-In-Chief, Journal of Racial and Ethnic Health Disparities
Cato T. Laurencin M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Director  Winston Price, M.D. Chief Information Technology Officer  
Evelyn Lewis, M.D., M.A., FAAFP Cobb Scholars Consultant Carmelita Grady, Ph.D. Senior Research Consultant Conchita Burpee, M.B.A.  Marketing and Community Relations Consultant
Virginia Caine, M.D., M.P.H., Principal Investigator and Research Consultant Maisha Standifer, Ph.D. Research Consultant

Tiffany Reid, MPH  Senior Program Specialist

Gabriella J. Charlouis Administrative Assistant

Lily Pieper Executive Assistant