Senior Fellows

Our Senior Fellows are influencers, thought leaders, and changemakers in the healthcare profession who are passionate about equitable healthcare access for African Americans and traditionally medically underserved populations. Fellows influence systems and institutions. They offer intensive mentoring and networking to scholars in areas of research, policy and practice. 


Donald E. Wilson, M.D., M.A.C.P., A.G.A.F.

Founder/Executive Director, Association for Academic Minority Physicians
John Z. and Akiko K. Bowers, Distinguished Professor
Dean Emeritus University of Maryland School of Medicine
Vice President for Medical Affairs, Emeritus
University of Maryland, Baltimore


Michael Lenoir, M.D.

Founder, Black Doctors Speak

Michael LeNoir is an Allergist and Pediatrician who has practiced since 1977. He is Fellow of the American Academy of Pediatrics and the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology. He has served as the President of the Ethnic Health Institute at Alta Bates Summit Medical Center, Chair of the Board of the African American Wellness Project, and on the board of the American Association of Certified Allergist. In 2014, he was elected 114th President of the National Medical Association. He is a graduate of University of Texas, where he received his BA and MD degrees.


Louis W. Sullivan, M.D. 

Chairman, Sullivan Alliance to Transform America’s Health Professions; Founding Dean and President Emeritus, Morehouse School of Medicine; Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services,1989 to 1993.


Georges C. Benjamin, M.D.    Joan Y. Reede, M.D., M.S., M.P.H, M.B.A.
Joseph Betancourt, M.D., M.P.H.   Griffin Rodgers, M.D.
Carolyn Barley Britton, M.D., M.S.   John Ruffin, Ph.D.
W. Michael Byrd, M.D., M.P.H.   David Satcher, M.D., Ph.D.
Linda Clayton, M.D., M.P.H.    Brian Smedley, Ph.D.
Donna Christensen, M.D.   Augustus A. White III, M.D., Ph.D.
James P. Comer, M.D., M.P.H   Richard Allen Williams, M.D., FACC, FAHA
Lisa A. Cooper, M.D., M.P.H   M. Roy Wilson, M.D., M.S.
Alvin H. Crawford, M.D.   Jackson T. Wright JR., M.D., PH.D., FACP
James Gavin III, M.D., Ph.D.   Gail E. Wyatt, Ph.D.
George Hill, Ph.D.    
Rodney Hood, M.D.    
Sonja Hutchins M.D., M.P.H.    
Edith Irby Jones, M.D.    
Camara Phyllis Jones, M.D., M.P.H., Ph.D.    
Lovell A. Jones, Ph.D., F.H.D.R.    
Cato T. Laurencin, M.D., Ph.D.    
Thomas LaVeist, Ph.D.    
Robert Like, M.D., M.S.    
Edith Mitchell, M.D., FACP    
Randall C. Morgan, M.D., M.B.A    
Elizabeth O. Ofili, M.D., M.P.H., FACC    
Roderic Pettigrew, M.D., Ph.D.    
Vivian W. Pinn, M.D.